Mediter

Institute for Forensic Psychology

1. What is forensic psychiatry / psychology?

The field of activity of a forensic psychiatrist/psychologist is the area of overlap between mental health care and the law.

If the court requests a psychiatric expert examination, the mental capacity of a suspect is evaluated at the time of the offence and thereafter. That is, accountability is evaluated: is the person mentally deficient, of unsound mind and/or have a severe mental disorder that makes them incapable of controlling their actions, are they responsible for the alleged behaviour and can they adequately judge the consequences of their actions?

To this end, a report is drawn up and a recommendation is submitted to the judicial authorities. This occurs amongst other things within the context of the law of 21 April 2007 concerning the internment of persons suffering from a mental disorder.

The duties of a judicial psychiatrist also involve the treatment and rehabilitation of offenders during and after detention, as well as reducing recidivism as much as possible.

 

2. What does the Institute for Forensic Psychology (IFP) do?

Within the field of forensic psychiatry/psychology, the IFP multidisciplinary team provides services that fall into two categories, namely, expert examinations and intensive treatment of offenders.

The first category includes a medical-psychiatric screening (medical-technical analysis) and a battery of (neuro) psychological tests, supplemented with historical data and information from individual interviews. This data is used to form a picture of offenders’ inner dynamics, generate hypotheses about criminal incentives and draw up a risk assessment.

The IFP advocates evidence-based treatment of detainees who have been paroled. Personalised psychotherapy is provided using a client-centred and insight-oriented approach supplemented with the use of cognitive-behavioural principles. The goal is to strengthen psychosocial skills, increase sense of responsibility and provide the most effective treatment for the existing psychopathology. The end goal of this work method is the rehabilitation-oriented and successful re-integration into society where the risk of relapse is minimised.

Both the expert examination and further treatment is carried out in close consultation with the pertinent judicial authorities.


At present, the forensic psychological duties are carried out by Stijn Claes, under the direction of Dr Lindemans.

Mediter

Institut de psychologie judiciaire

1. Qu’est-ce que la psychiatrie/psychologie médicolégale ?

Le terrain de travail du psychiatre/psychologue médicolégal se situe à l’interface des soins de santé mentale et de la justice.

Lorsque le tribunal formule une demande d’expertise psychiatrique, l’expert dresse le bilan de l’état mental du suspect au moment des faits commis, mais aussi au-delà. Autrement dit, il cherche à établir la responsabilité individuelle de l’intéressé : cette personne se trouve-t-elle en état de démence, de débilité mentale et/ou de déséquilibre mental la rendant incapable de contrôler ses actions, est-elle responsable du comportement incriminé et est-elle capable d’en évaluer suffisamment les conséquences ?

Les constats font l’objet d’un rapport et d’un avis, qui sont communiqués aux instances judiciaires. Cette démarche s’inscrit notamment dans le cadre de la loi du 21 avril 2007 relative à l’internement des personnes atteintes d’un trouble mental.

Les missions de la psychiatrie légale englobent, par ailleurs, le traitement et la resocialisation des délinquants pendant et après leur détention, et la réduction maximale du risque de récidive.

 

2. Que fait l’Institut de psychologie médicolégale (IPML) ?

Dans le domaine de la psychiatrie/psychologie médicolégale, l’équipe multidisciplinaire de l’IPML propose des services qui reposent sur deux piliers : l’expertise médicolégale et le traitement intensif des délinquants.

Le premier pilier consiste en une évaluation médicopsychiatrique (analyse médicotechnique) et une batterie de tests (neuro)psychologiques, complétées de données anamnestiques et d’informations recueillies lors d’entretiens individuels. Ces éléments permettent d’avoir une idée de la dynamique intérieure des délinquants, de formuler des hypothèses criminogènes et d’établir une évaluation des risques.

L’IPML se charge par ailleurs du traitement evidence-based (fondé sur des données probantes) des détenus en sursis. En s’appuyant sur une approche centrée sur le client/psychodynamique, complétée de principes cognitivo-comportementaux, l’Institut propose un traitement psychothérapeutique personnalisé. L’objectif est de renforcer les aptitudes psychosociales, d’accroître le sens des responsabilités et de traiter la psychopathologie identifiée le plus efficacement possible. Cette méthode de travail vise une réinsertion sociale réussie, qui favorise la rémission et permet de réduire au minimum le risque de rechute.

Les expertises et les traitements ultérieurs sont établis en étroite concertation avec les instances judiciaires impliquées.


Pour l’heure, les missions de psychologie médicolégale sont assurées par Stijn Claes, sous la direction du Dr Lindemans.